Horrorwriter's Ramblings

2004-12-24

The Great Robbery: Part Two

I wasn�t sure of how to react, but two weeks after we were robbed. A car showed up in our drive around one in the morning. We had spoken to both state and county cops, and the police in the state beside us by the time this happened. The authorities believe they are connected.

Anyways, I�m going to state up-front that my house has poltergeist activity. It�s old and has unique abilities. It kept me up until I finally got up. Then I watched a car peel out from the front of our house. Luckily, we have a streetlight outside and I saw a good profile of the car. They threw a VCR tape of an adult movie at our mailbox. As you can imagine, the police in a rural area found that one very interesting. There were prints on that, as well.

By the time this happened, I was quite accustomed to the thought that they might attempt something else. We had concluded it was no normal robbery for money a few days after it happened.

It just makes you wonder about people. I wish there were someone I could talk to who had experienced something like this. Everyone has been robbed, but they were all �normal,� and it was purely for financial gain. Few have been broken into with a vengeful robber. When a motive of revenge is introduced, I guess that makes it a lot easier for the police to locate the perpetrator.

We haven�t been left alone after that. Thankfully, our neighbors and authorities are keeping a close eye on our house. The State Detective said this home should be a nightmare for robbers because it wasn�t the least bit hidden from the highway. One of the reasons he was so quick to state it was purely vindictive.

It�s a fascinating experience in ways. It�s a code that you have to crack in order to resolve. The prints will be the final piece of the puzzle when they return. There will be no turning back.

You know, when people commit crimes like this, they usually try to intimidate or put fear into you. Really, it has proved how protective people are in our lives, how much it hurts them when you are attacked. My sister attended school with the state attorney general and has said she�d visit him personally if we needed any help from him regarding our case.

I just wish none of it was needed. The stuff they took was easily replaceable. They stole some things we borrowed so three families are involved. I really hope that it was all worthwhile because it�s just going to be a mess when that hammer swings down.

I know it�s a vain hope, but I wish they would come out. Really. No matter who or why. That would save so much time and worry. Not to mention, court costs, fees, fines, and the time in incarceration. Well, I�m pretty certain they�d offer leniency for something as honest as that. Especially if there were kids involved.

I know it doesn�t work like that. They�ll have to be foolish and stubborn and obstinate. They�ll just hope the prints don�t turn up and somehow, the police will not pay any further attention to the case. Even though the state is involved. No doubt because so many typical, financial robberies go unsolved in our area. But, in a vindictive robbery, there is a general idea of who did it. Once the police have the list of people they go to work. With a financial robbery, they have no knowledge of who.

Anyways, the robbers will do whatever they do and then seethe about the consequences of their actions when the time rolls around. Then, they�ll panic because of court costs, restitution, sentencing, and all that. And, of course, they�ll blame us for it. Not that it matters. But, it�s always aggravating when people blame others for something they willingly do. Instead of taking responsibility, they kind of rationalize it to themselves and push it off on you. You don�t really have to do anything, just be at the right place in the right time. Then you get, �Yes, I did it. BUT, you made me�� �You forced me�� �I will broadcast my actions to the four ends of the Earth, but just know it�s YOUR fault�� �Yes, I ran over your dog, but it was standing beside the road in an area that I might need to drive through��

Well, that�s about it for the robbery. We have a file, ourselves, just copies of the paperwork we�ve turned in. It was funny that so many got a kick out of it, I cant count the times we�ve been encouraged to submit the ordeal to the, �Stupidest Criminals.� We�ll just see, I guess, when it�s over.

Might make an interesting non-fiction book. You never know.